News, Station News

Motez wins Best Video at 2020 SA Music Awards

South Australia has celebrated its world-class music scene in one of the first award ceremonies to be presented at full capacity in Australia this year!

The SA Music Awards took place at the UniBar Adelaide’s College Green, hosted by Three D Radio’s Isaac Selby. Twenty-nine industry-voted and people’s choice awards recognised the many people who make SA music great, including artists Ollie English, Naomi Keyte, Jessica Wishart (twice), Wanderers, Jess Day (twice), Towns and Siberian Tiger.

Channel 44 was proud to sponsor the Best Music Video award, presented by General Manager Lauren Hillman to Motez for the video to his track Soulitude. Motez and punk duo Wing Defence were two of the major winners of the night, collecting three awards each.


Motez also collected People’s Choice Electronic Artist award; while Wing Defence won Best Group and People’s Choice Punk Artist gongs. There was even a historic moment took place in SAM history as Motez and Wing Defence shared the Best Release award.

“It was so wonderful to be able to gather for the SAM Awards,” Music SA General Manager Kim Roberts said. “It was a beautiful night and the perfect way to celebrate the depth and breadth of talent here in SA, especially after such a tough time for the industry.”

“Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees, and to the team of great people that worked hard to make this event possible.”

South Australian Music Awards 2020 Winners

UNESCO Best International Collaboration Award

Farhan Shah and Udan Khatola

Music SA Community Achievement Award

Craig Armstrong

APRA AMCCOS Emily Burrows Award



Industry Voted Awards

Best Music Video – Presented by Channel 44

Motez, Pilot Studio, Mapped Design, Daggers Production, Kelsey Pedler (MotezSoulitude)

Best Innovation – Presented by CityMag

play / pause / play

Best Music Educator – Presented by SAMII

Nick O’Connor

Best Studio – Presented by Adelaide Music Collective


Best Studio Engineer / Producer – Presented by SAE Institute

Mario Spate

Best Live Technician – Presented by Novatech

Luke Hancock

Best Small Festival/Event – Presented by UniBar

The Porch Sessions

Best Major Festival/Event – Presented by Pirate Life

St Jerome’s Laneway Festival – Adelaide

Best Venue – Presented by AHA (SA Branch)

Lion Arts Factory

Best Cover Art – Presented by VERSION Design

Todd Fischer (Lost Woods – Shaping Distant Memories)

Best Manager – Presented by Association of Artist Managers

Matthew Khabbaz

Best Song – Presented by APRA AMCOS

Affection by Jess Day

Best New Artist – Presented by WOMADelaide

Siberian Tiger & Slowmango

Best Group – Presented by Derringers

Wing Defence

Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander – Presented by CASM

Jessica Wishart

Best Solo – Presented by Adelaide Festival Centre

Jess Day

Best Release – Presented by The Music

Soulitude by Motez & Friends by Wing Defence


People’s Choice Awards

Blues & Roots – Presented by Radio Adelaide

Ollie English

Country – Presented  by Grace Emily Hotel

Jessica Wishart

Electronic – Presented by MOSHTIX


Experimental – Presented by Ancient World


Folk – Presented by Wheatsheaf  Hotel

Naomi Keyte

Heavy – Presented by Enigma Bar


Hip  Hop – Presented by The Gov

We Move Like Giants

Jazz – Presented by Elder Con

Django Rowe

Pop – Presented by Lion Arts Factory


Punk – Presented by Three D Radio

Wing Defence

Rock – Presented by Crown & Anchor


Soul/Funk/R’n’B – Presented by Woodville Town Hall